January 25, 2016 – Week 69

Can you believe it? I am getting transferred again! You know that moment in the movie The Testaments when the prophet papanwa man says, “Take me to the land Bounitful so that I may die by the temple.” Haha that is what my life is right now, because I am moving to Zoetermeer, the city where the temple is! The literal translation of the name is “sweeter lake.” Not to be confused with Salt Lake. Jokes jokes. I am sad to be leaving Tilburg. It is an amazing branch and the members here are among the best I have ever met. I will be forever thankful for them and all they did to help my companion and I out. 

That dear, sweet sister moved in with a senior missionary couple to rest and recover for a little bit. I miss her! I have learned so much from her faith! I think she was put into my life at a really important time. I mean not to be dramatic, but kind of. This last transfer has changed my entire life with the depth of how my testimony has been able to grow. And there is still so much more to learn!! I love the gospel so much. 

So recap on the week-still some more inside time at the begining. I went on some splits with branch members and our sister training leaders to help get some missionary work done here. One day I went on an exchange with my STL and I went so crazy-like I had the desire to literally talk to every single person I saw. It was fun:) Getting so into the work! I hope to keep that fire on my last transfer. 

We had district meeting and interviews with our mission president this week-at our apartment since we couldn’t go out! That was so strange but sweet. Bless our wonderful mission president and his wife and those supportive elders in our district.

Sister Johansen pointed out one day how historic this country is and how beautiful it is that we walk on the same cobblestones that have been here for hundreds of years. The gospel is being spread to the 4 corners of the earth, and we, as missionaries are just as much a part of the history than anything else that happens. We are not perfect but there are angels helping us our here and recording these miracles and stories. I read Elder L. Tom Perry’s dedicatory prayer for the Netherlands and he blessed the missionaries here specifically that they would be able to feel God’s love. I have sure experienced the fulfillment of that blessing, as I know many other people have as well. 

I am thankful for the hard times in my mission. From those I have learned the most and been strengthened. I am thankful to a Heavenly Father who cares about me enough to guide my footsteps and let me learn from each day that He gives me.

The past couple of days, I have been staying and working with the Sisters in Dordrecht, Sister Cowles (from my MTC group) and Sister Goodman. We are having a blast. I love being in a tripanionship again.

Well that’s all for now folks! Sending all my love 😀

Sister Manning

Leave a Reply

