May 4, 2015 – Week 32

Hello friends of the world! Ah man, on this my first day in my second decade on the planet earth I wish to express my heartfelt love for you all and for this wonderful work we call missionary work! Haha but seriously, I’ve had one of the best birthdays/weeks ever! 

Starting off with Monday, Koningsdag, or King’s Day, was a great success! We had an “army” of about 10 missionaries, all of us wearing the beautiful national color orange, and we went to the free market to spread the gospel! People on this day perform music in the park, sell clothes, baked goods, you name it! We set up a banner and two giant posters and a layout of Book of Mormons in so many languages that it was comparabel to the Visitor’s Center.  😀 We got to talk to many people and we are even teaching 3 new investigators from it! 

I love Nederland and I love me some contacting! An enthusastic member who helped out that day said in his testimony on Sunday, “I’ve been down to Antwerpen and seen the diamonds and beautiful things, but nothing can compare to the joy I felt that day.” I add my “amen to that!” 

Yesterday, we had an amazing Sunday as well. We had a really special experience where we were biking when I recognized a man that I’d given a Book of Mormon a couple months ago to. We started talking to his friend who was very skeptical of God and religion and just making jokes about South Park.  We were about to ride away when two of his friends showed up, one of them very drunk, which is a funny story in itself (prison tatoo stories and slurred Dutch all included for free), but we ended up talking to another one of the friends…Anyway long story short, we bike away and about five minutes later, the man who originally mocked it, biked up to us and expressed that he didn’t want to say it in front of his other friends but he was really looking for change. He started to tear up as he said he was giving up hope on his life but saw something different in us and wants to see if it can help him turn his life around, because just earlier that week he had thought about ending it. It was a really sobering and lovely exprerience and we will meet with him later this week. 

Sister Dobler and I are having a blast here in Maastricht, she is so funny, she reminds me a lot of Kiki acutally, and we have some random mutual connections which is fun! I’ve had a simple birthday but fun with panakoken baking and story telling, and I’ve received an outpouring of love though emails and notes from former companions. And then Sunday I will get to skype my dear mother, the best present ever (insert aww-ing here) 
I love this gospel and I know it changes lives! Onward, Ever onward!
Love,
Sister Joshlin Manning
Leave a Reply

