January 5, 2015 – Week 15

Dear Everyone, I hope that you all had a wonderful New Year! Things are wonderful here in Maastricht. One of my companions, Sister Reeder, is going home this week, finishing her extension of her mission. I am sad to see her go. I have learned seriosuly so much from her example of kindness and love, but she has a bright future ahead of her! Sister Jensen and I are going to be sufficiently stretched, now both being the greenies to take over the city with a schedule full of new teaching appointments from the students coming home from holiday. We are so excited for the challenge though!

Actual New Year, here they call it “Old Year’s Eve” or “Year Switching,” was very fun! We had to be in the apartment by 4, so we had a restful night just hanging out with each other. But in the night, the fireworks were incredible. We could see so many just out our window! The Dutch go crazy setting fireworks off at midnight; it looked and smelled like a war zone! Hopefully I can send a video and more pictures next week.

One miracle to share from this week, is one of the investigators here, Dudley, a man from Sri Lanka, was having a lot of problems with the Word of Wisdom. When I came to the city, he was hardly ever sober and his health was declining rapidly. He had to be hospitalized andtwo doctors came to his house and took him to the hospital on a day when he didn’t even have an appointment. Thanks to lots of prayers and fasting he is doing so much better now! He used to be a chef so this week when we’ve been teaching him, he’s made us some delicious meals! Another one of our investigators who had been struggling, finally wants to set a baptismal date! There are so many other blessings we see every day here.

I got the oppportunity to have interviews with President and Sister Robinson, which was great. Sister Robinson and I talked about how inspired transfers are and I really do think that it’s true. The Lord works in such amazing ways.

I will have to write later about more miracles that happened this week! I am so greatful for the restored gospel of Jesus Christ. I have really seen how it has blessed my life and the lives of others. I love you all and will talk to you later!

Love,

Sister Manning 🙂

Leave a Reply

